Interview with Author Susan V Vaughn #books #YA @susanvaughn1124

Today, I have romance author, Susan V. Vaughn on my blog today talking about her new YA Fantasy Romance: The Pixie Queen.

And now, without further ado, please help me wlecome Susan V. Vaughn.

Hello Susan, happy release day for The Pixie Queen! Thank you for spending some time with me today on my blog. Many of my followers are als writers, so I wanted to start off by asking you a few questions about writing.

What is your writing process? i.e., Do you write as you go (panster) or do you outline and know what’s going to happen prior to writing? (plotter)

I am such a classic panster. I always outline as I go. Usually a story strikes me, via dream, or daydream. Then I’m off to the races. A lot of time I will write whole chapters of just dialogue, and then go back through and add the action. I find that the characters tell me which way they want to go, not the other way around.

As a writer, I’m always interested in where other authors get their ideas. From where did you get your inspiration for The Pixie Queen?

I love fantasy, and Earth magic. I thought what would be better than combining those two worlds. I also really wanted a strong female lead. We have so many great YA books with a young male hero. But what about our girls? We need to represent females in a positive way in this culture.

Your other books are contemporary romance, whereas The Pixie Queen is a YA Fantasy romance. What has been different about writing fantasy versus contemporary romance?

I found writing Fantasy to be so much more challenging. In fantasy you have to keep your magical rules straight. The world you create has to be air tight, and believable. With Contemporary you have more wiggle room, because the setting for the book is real life. We already know the rules and understand them.

Who are some of your favourite authors? What impact (if any) did they have on your writing?

I absolutely love Krensley Cole. I think she is a genius when it comes to creating a magical world you want to live in, and characters you want to hang out with. Her books are always funny, and a good time. With her books, I know I’m going to be up all night reading until it’s done!

The Pixie Queen is your sixth published book. What do you know now as a writer that you wished you knew when you wrote your first book?

So many things! I have a lot of editing tricks I have learned in the last two years that I wished I would have known to start with. Editing is the key to having your book reading smooth. It’s the only way to keep your readers engaged. I have learned to key in on dialogue, and make it strong. And to reread a manuscript over and over until it flows.

Who is your favorite character in the book and why?

Jane is my favorite hands down. She is not an ordinary teenage girl, she is magical, and because of that she has to find a way to fit into regular society. Naturally she’s an introvert, which I can completely relate to. I think what’s wonderful about Jane is that she was underestimated by so many people in her life, including herself. But through the journey of this book, she becomes strong, and unstoppable.

What is the biggest surprise that you experienced after becoming a published author?

How supportive other authors are. It’s wonderful.

I totally agree! There’s such a wonderful community of writers out there. Do you have any words of advice/wisdom for other authors?

I live my life by a Dr. Seuss quote. It goes: Be who you are, and say what you feel. Because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.

I think this relates to all writers. For one, your writing styles is completely your own. You have to be yourself, or your books will not connect to anyone. If you write from the heart, there will be people out there who love it, and people who hate it. When I first started writing I always said if my book makes one person in this world smile, then I have done my job.

Reading is so important. It’s is like giving your brain a big old hug. I think if you can help one person to read in this world, then you are successful as a writer. In this digital age it is too easy to get lost in the world of negative reviews, and likes. In that way, we clump all of society together, and forget individual human relations. I wish more authors would measure their success by individuals who read their book and fell in love with the world they created. Even if it is one person, what a priceless gift to give someone.

ThePixieQueen.FinalAmazon.jpg

About The Pixie Queen

In the small town of Caseville strange things have occurred…

From the time Jane Hensley was little, she knew she was different. Instead of hanging out with friends, she was often in the woods, alone, chanting magical words that filled her with power and effected the environment around her. A sudden summer storm on a perfectly sunny day. Monster waves crashing into the shores of Lake Huron. Strange things happening in nature with no rhyme or reason. Residents are mystified by these occurrences, but would never dream they could come from Plain Jane Hensley, the girl that was so quiet, it was like she wasn’t there at all.

But David Reynolds, the town’s football star, has noticed Jane. In fact he has been secretly in love with the strange girl for years. And on the morning of her sixteenth birthday, he is determined to finally reveal his heart to her. Instead David discovers Jane’s powerful secret. A secret that has brought a magical stranger to their town. One who claims to be a Pixie King, and entices Jane on a quest.

Now David must choose whether to allow the girl of his dreams to disappear forever. Or follow her on a journey that defies logic.

Buy it here:

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B01DPP14RO

Itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1099229689

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/the-pixie-queen-1

About Susan V. Vaughn

Romance Author, Susan V. Vaughn understood the meaning of sarcasm before she could walk.  Her childhood in the suburbs of Detroit was spent mainly trying to outwit her six creative siblings.  When she wasn’t working on the next soul crushing jab, she sharpened her imagination on romantic literature and day dreamed about her knight in shining armor.

It didn’t take long for Susan to take her passion for reading romances into writing her own unique love stories.  Susan lives her life finding laughter in all situations, and delights in marrying sarcasm with romance to create realistic falling-in-love stories in the unlikeliest of scenarios.

Susan lives on the shores of Lake Huron with her real life knight in shining armor and enjoys watching their three children learn the art of sarcasm and wit.

Website: http://www.susanvvaughn.com

Twitter: @susanvaughn1124

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Susan-V-Vaughn-123758787958942/

 

14 thoughts on “Interview with Author Susan V Vaughn #books #YA @susanvaughn1124

  1. Cereal Romantic says:

    Hi Susan! I just discovered you last year and have enjoyed your contemporary romances. It was fascinating to learn about your writing process and I enjoyed your quote from Dr. Seuss. Will you be writing more YA Fantasy romances? Any chance for a fantasy adult romance?

  2. A Reader says:

    I loved reading this article, Susan! As readers we get to know the author through the writing. And, it’s always fun to know more details about the author. I agree with Cereal Romantic – love that quote from Dr. Seuss. Brilliant advice. Would love to see an adult fantasy! Do you think romance will always connect to your books?

    • Susan V. Vuahgn says:

      Thank you for all your support! I think romance will play a big role in all my books. Most of my favorite books have some sort of romantic element in them. I’m just a sucker for love 🙂
      On top of that, I find that romance is a great way to show the softer side of a character. To connect a character to the audience, and make them bit more human.

  3. mountainluv91 says:

    I’ve read your other adult romances and know from experience that you practice what you preach. I’m one of those people who fell in love with the characters and the worlds you create. Thanks for making my life just a little bit better. Fantasy is my favorite genre and I can’t wait to read Pixie Queen and see your unique take on it. Thanks for writing and don’t stop!!

  4. N. Mullis says:

    As a writer, I did a fist-pump when reading your thoughts about reviews and likes. Making a connection is the real reason for the work. I also applaud your thoughts on editing. Good writing is rewriting. Kudos, Ms. Vaughn! Can’t wait to read your work.

    • Susan V. Vuahgn says:

      Thank you, N. Mullis. I am honored to have a fellow writer’s approval of my views on editing and reviews 🙂 It’s a hard industry. We have to support each other. Writing is a gift to this world. Reading is a must. I hope you enjoy The Pixie Queen.

    • Susan Vaughn says:

      Thank you, Judy. I am thrilled with the cover too. My cover artist Najla did a wonderful job as always.

Leave a Reply

