Spring YA Scavenger Hunt: Exclusive Content from @kaimcca93 #YASH #TeamPurple

Hello and Welcome to the 10th YA Scavenger Hunt!

YASH INFO

Hello! I am Lisa Voisin, your hostess for this leg of the hunt.

LisaThis is me
(once I’ve had my hair straightened)

I’m a city girl who loves nature and lives beside a temperate rainforest at the base of a mountain.

I love coffee but I have over two dozen different kinds of tea in my cupboard. (It’s a compulsion)

Neil Gaiman is one of my idols.

I love cherry blossoms in the spring.

The Hunt:

This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some awesome prizes!

On this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each participating YA author, you also get a secret number. Add up the numbers, and enter it for a chance to win a major prize–one lucky winner will receive at least one signed book from each author on my team in the hunt! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online until noon Pacific time on Sunday, April 5th!

You can start right here or you can also go to the YA Scavenger Hunt homepage to find out all about the hunt. There are EIGHT contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one, two or ALL of them! I am a part of TEAM PURPLE–but there is also a blue team, a red team, a green team, a pink team, a gold team, an orange team, and a teal team. If you do those hunts too, you’ll have a chance to win many different sets of signed books!

Team Purple

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, see the full list of prizes up for grabs, or if you get lost along the way, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt homepage. Full instructions can be found on the How to Hunt page.

Looking for my exclusive bonus content? You’ll have to keep searching. Somewhere on this blog hop, I’ve hidden an exclusive, never-before-seen scene from Mia and Michael’s past — from the yet to be published sequel to The Angel Killer. ( No spoilers, I promise!)

Before you go on though, check out the amazing author I’m hosting. But, first, a few rules.

scavenger_hunt_2

Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the green team, and then add them up (don’t worry, you can use a calculator!). Hint: the secret number is highlighted in:

PURPLE

Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally. Anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by October 5th, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

Now that all the technical stuff is out of the way, I am super excited to be hosting…

 Kai McCarthy

kaimc

Kai’s Story:

Kai is the indie author of “Unpredictable Prophecies” and “Unimaginable Prospects.” Growing up in a small town near Grand Rapids, Michigan, Kai McCarthy started reading at a young age. The only books that drew Kai’s attention were the supernatural ones. She started writing in middle school. UNPREDICTABLE PROPHECIES’ inspiration came from a dream. Kai is currently working on the Fontanei series.

Kai’s Books:

Unpredictable Prophecies (Book One in the World’s End Trilogy)

Unimaginable Prospects (A World’s End novella)

Here’s a bit about UNPREDICTABLE PROPHECIES:

Fallen angel? Try risen demon.

Acadia Mills has been sent to perform very serious tasks. Part of the prophecy that predicts the end of the world, Acadia must figure out how to make it less severe of an outcome. When the only person who can tell her how to do that is mysteriously murdered, Acadia must work with the compelling angel Micah, whose team is also trying to figure it out. Torn between following her guardian’s orders and doing what is right, Acadia finds herself reliving her human life, where she makes a startling discovery.

When everything falls to pieces, can Acadia save the one she loves to find the one she is destined for?

Bonus Content: Prologue to The Magpie’s Daughter

(from Kai’s upcoming Fontanei series – for more information, visit Kai’s shiny new website: http://kai-mccarthy.com/  I visited it THIRTEEN (that’s 13) times.)

Prologue

 People surged through the streets as arrows whizzed over their heads. Panicked crowds rushed in groups to the nearby forest. Men on horses galloped over citizens, slashing their swords at anyone in their way. One woman weaseled her way against the crowd, a screaming child in her arm as another, her son, clung to her hand.

“Mommy,” the boy whined, barely heard over the shouting and screaming, “where are we going? I’m scared.”

Shh, Charles, I know. Mommy’s scared too.” She glanced at all the terrified faces, a sickness settling her gut. Her children came first but she couldn’t take the youngest. She knew only one people well enough to entrust with the baby’s care. Pushing against the walls, the woman clung tight to Charles’ hand as more and more people rushed to the gates.

“Mommy, why aren’t we going with them?” Charles cried, pointing to the crowds. Tears were streaming down his face as he saw children his own age being carried by their parents, heading to somewhere safe. Where was his mother taking him?

“Charles, in here,” his mother ordered, ushering him into a building. It was dark and smelled of mold, but he listened. Once his eyes adjusted, he noticed a woman standing next to a curtain, her dark hair stringy and messy. Her eyes were wild, a bright green seeming to shine through them, as if it wasn’t their natural color. She looked crazy and Charles was petrified.

“Mathilda, I beg you for your help.” The woman with the baby approached the other, kneeling and bowing her head as she offered the bundle of cloth. “This child will only be a burden and I fear she will cost all our lives if I keep her. Charles is old enough to understand and Richard already knows my plan.”

Mathilda shook her head sadly. “How do you expect me to care for her?”

“Please. Do whatever you must. I’ll be back for her when I can. Just keep her safe. Richard was so happy when she was born, I fear it will break his heart if she died at the hands of the Garbonians.”

Charles stepped up to his mother and clutched her skirts. “Mother–“

“Hush, boy,” Mathilda scolded. “Heavens, Elizabeth, did you teach him nothing yet? Where are his manners?” She grabbed the baby and coddled her, pushing back the cloth enough to see her sleeping face. “Fine. I will watch over your daughter as if she is my own. She will know nothing of you, Richard, or Charles. Is that what you want?”

Elizabeth’s heart broke. Her daughter wouldn’t know anything about her? “Is this the only way?”

“If you wish to keep her safe, yes.”

The mother hung her head. “So be it.” She stood, grabbed Charles by the hand once again, and turned away. Tears ran down her face but she knew Mathilda would take care of the baby. “Come along, Charles.” She opened the door and joined the crowd, never once looking back. Charles, however, looked just in time to see Mathilda slip through the curtain, his baby sister still in her arms.

 Chapter One

Hiyah!” The blade sunk into the tree, cutting it through two solid inches. Emmalyn panted with exertion, her body drenched in sweat. Even her hair, usually tied neatly in a bun at the nape of her neck, hung loose, the dark strands clinging to her face.

Clapping sounded from behind her. “Quite impressive, Emmalyn. Perhaps next time you can hack it down with your mind instead.”

Emmalyn turned to see her mother, Mathilda, standing in the doorway to the cottage. She wore black, as usual, the robes hanging to the ground as if wanting to trip her. Her hair, too, was its normal craziness, sticking out at random places and looking as coarse as straw. Emmalyn bowed to her.

“Thank you, Mother. My training has improved much.”

“Indeed. It’s a shame you don’t pay as much attention to your studies. You have a brilliant mind, if only you would choose to utilize it.”

Yanking the sword from the tree, Emmalyn ignored the jibe. She was smart, yes, but schooling would get her nowhere, not while she was a woman. That, and the ‘studies’ she spoke of didn’t interest her at all. She had no need for magic. Mathilda watched her as she wiped the blade down, her keen eyes noticing when Emmalyn sucked in a sharp breath and massaged a part of the sharp metal.

“Is your blade chipped?” she asked the younger woman.

Emmalyn looked up in shock. “Yes, Mother,” she replied after taking a moment to control herself. “I’ll need to repair it later tonight.”

“You will do no such thing,” Mathilda clipped. “There’s a ball this evening and you must look your best. Every eligible young man will be there looking for a suitable woman to make his bride. You must keep to traditions. Your sixteenth birthday has come and passed. It’s time you find a husband.”

“I wish for no husband,” Emmalyn snarled, sheathing the weapon into its case on her hip. “I have no interest in conversing with men who will leave me with child for a war we cannot win.”

Mathilda sighed. “Emmalyn, it is your duty as a woman to attend. You must. Now, you will come into the cottage, bathe the grime from today’s training off your body, and dress in the elegant gown I made for you. No argument.” She turned back into the cottage, the door closing quieter than Emmalyn would have thought possible.

Heaving a sigh to match her mother’s, Emmalyn crossed her arms over her chest and glared at the cottage. She hated getting prettied up for men who only seemed to pretend to be interested in her. With her childbearing hips, every man’s mother was commanding him to introduce himself to Emmalyn at these kinds of events, even before she was of age. She doubted tonight would be any different.

 


Bonus Draw

Thank you so much for visiting my website! While you’re here, don’t forget to enter the bonus draw I am running exclusively during the YA Scavenger Hunt.

For the BONUS draw, do the following (see the Rafflecopter link below):

1. Tweet about this page and help spread the word about the YA Scavenger Hunt!

2. Leave a comment on this blog and answer the following: Which would you prefer: would you rather be able to fly (with your own wings), heal people with your touch, or read other people’s thoughts?

There are other ways to get more points too! Don’t forget to enter them in the: Rafflecopter giveaway

Speaking of hearing other people’s thoughts. I look forward to hearing yours! Have fun!

For this Bonus Contest, I will be giving away ecopies of THE WATCHER, book one of The Watcher Saga and two ecopies of THE ANGEL KILLER.

Once you’ve commented, proceed to the next author in the hunt… drumroll please! NICOLE CONWAY!

34 thoughts on “Spring YA Scavenger Hunt: Exclusive Content from @kaimcca93 #YASH #TeamPurple

  1. Dominique Cobb says:

    That’s a tough question!! I’d have to say being able to fly especially if I got to choose the color and design of my wings but if not it would still be super fun!!!

  2. MissPhyre says:

    I would love to heal people. Probably the most rewarding thing is to be able to help other people.
    Thank you for the giveaway and for participating in YASH!!!

  3. Autumn says:

    Wow hard to pick. I am torn between flying and reading people’s thoughts. Flying would be cool with my own wings but imagine the clothes I would go through because of the wings lol. So I am going to go with reading people’s thoughts as long as I can turn it on and off. Thank you for the chance.

  4. K Fox says:

    Hmmmmm … after much thought … I have to go with heal people with my touch. Flying would be great but I don’t know if I’d want wings all the time. Plus, I’m slightly scared of heights. Ok … not slightly … VERY scared of heights. Reading peoples thoughts would have it’s advantages but it would also come with MANY disadvantages. I don’t know if I would want to know everyone’s horrible thoughts … I wouldn’t want to know what they were saying about me. It would be hard to stay confident. Being not-knowing and in the dark about some things is ok in my book!

  5. Emma G says:

    I would rather fly. I want my own set of wings, and be able to fly in the sky for hours. Thanks for the giveaway!
    ~Emma G

  6. Angelica Leon says:

    Read minds, straight away, that way is easier to find out whats wrong with someone and find a way to help them. xD

  7. Aditi says:

    Read peoples thoughts- DEFINITELY! (Although, could we compromise and could I get all three;) 😛

    Thanks for the extra giveaway-Aditi

  8. als115 says:

    I hate to see people suffer so I would definitely love to be able to heal people. Thanks for the extra giveaway and for participating. Nice to meet you. I look forward to reading your work.

  9. Michaela Mills (@MMills_writer) says:

    This is tough. Emotionally, I would want to heal people. There’s just so much suffering in the world. Logically, however, I know that healing people would come with some pretty severe complications and eventually I’d have to go into hiding. 😉

    I think I’d choose flying. Easier to get away. 😉

  10. Sarah Miles says:

    I’d want to read thoughts. I have social anxiety, and I think would help cut out some of the awkward moments. Until I hear a mean thought 😛 But it has other perks, too. People don’t always say what they mean in general. Sometimes, you have info omitted. Other times, you have people completely tuning you out when you’re talking to them. I bet it’d be really useful in business to have that power!

  11. valerierlawson says:

    that IS a difficult question! i don’t want to read minds – blech! but, between flying and healing, that really is a tough decision. i think i’d get tired of flying eventually, so healing.

Leave a Reply

