A #Crowdfunding Campaign? In December?

A year and a half ago, I wrote a post about crowdfunding, called Crowdfunding Your Novel – Good or Evil? This September, I won an award for my novel, The Watcher, and the prize was a free campaign with Pubslush. After a few phone calls and emails with the marketing experts there, I decided to give it a try to promote my second novel, The Angel Killer.

I’m inviting you to support an artist in reaching her dreams. If you keep reading, you’ll see some of the work that’s involved in promoting a book. Since I’m in this for the long haul, I’m interested in learning as much as I can about not only the writing process, but the publicity one as well.

If you’ve never seen an online campaign, or if you’d like to know more about what I’m talking about, my pubslush campaign can be found here:

http://theangelkiller.pubslush.com

The Angel Killer

TheAngelKiller.FINALWeb

Now that she’s found him again, all Mia Crawford wants is some downtime with her fallen angel boyfriend, Michael. But the call of duty keeps him away—from school and from her—with more demons to smite than ever.

When Michael is mortally wounded by a cursed sword, Mia must perform an ancient blood ritual to save him. But the spell exacts a price. Haunted by visions of war, torture, and despair, Mia discovers the world is in more danger than she ever imagined. Behind the scenes, an evil adversary pulls all the strings.

After redemption, there’s Hell to pay.

Praise for The Angel Killer:

“Voisin doesn’t let off the gas until the thrilling end of THE ANGEL KILLER. Fans of The Watcher as well as new readers will devour this book.”
– Eileen Cook Author of REMEMBER

Why do I need that if my book has a publisher?

I’m with a small publisher, who recently cut their marketing team. While all my editing and publishing costs are covered, there’s not much left for publicity, and the costs of promoting a book, even on the Internet, are extraordinary.

Authors are often left to their own devices for promotion. Self-published authors offer their work for free. Some try to bundle their work with other authors. Some have had success. The problem is: by the time you hear of something working, it’s already been done and the novelty has worn off.

It may seem like I’m asking for a lot, but I’m actually trying to cover what I know are valid publicity costs:

  • Hiring a publicist
  • Paying for prizes and online campaigns
  • Book launch parties and events
  • Paying official review sites like Kirkus for reviews (the resource that libraries use to vet your work befre they consider purchase)

However, you don’t have to donate to help. Simply by sharing this campaign, you’re  helping me promote my work.

Thank you for reading me today! I’m curious. Have any of you participated in a crowdfunding campaign, either as the person holding one, or as a contributor? Tell me about the campaign. What kind was it? Did it work? If you did contribute, what made you want to?

Leave a Reply

