Are Angels Immortal or Do They Just Use Really Good Moisturizer? (Winged Wednesdays)

PSome people believe that angels are immortal beings, or beings that can live forever. If you do a Google search, you’ll find pages of results.  I don’t know about you, but I sometimes picture them having bodies that stay eternally young (and beautiful), but that might just be me projecting my own wishes onto them. Others might see their immortality as meaning they’re virtually indestructible, supernatural beings, with superpowers of their own, like the ancient gods and goddesses. But are either of these scenarios really true?

Furthermore,  what are angels made of? According to some, they’re pure spirits made by God. Well, we’ve been told our own spirits (or souls) are immortal too, so surely a being that is made entirely of soul would be immortal too–wouldn’t it?

But can’t souls be affected, or weakened by trauma or abuse? Some claim that Psalm 82 in the bible claims that God is telling the angels that they “shall die like men, And fall like one of the princes.”

It also says that angels can “fall” (and that’s been documented a few times). Surely, a fall is a type of weakening. Perhaps it’s a type of death itself. If one angel can fall, then surely it’s able to change states. Maybe it still lives, but it changes somehow. If the presence of God grants the soul “eternal life”, what does being in the presence of evil do? (I think we have enough PTSD sufferers in the world who know how destructive evil can be.) So, a soul may not be indestructible. It can be injured in some way.

And then you have to look at what we mean by immortal. According to wikipedia, it’s the ability to live forever. It’s  a capability. I’m sure my body is technically capable of running a marathon, but have I ever done one? No.

So there’s a huge difference between a capability and an actuality.

According to some scientists, human beings themselves may be able to achieve immortality in the first few decades of the 21st century. So we, too, can become immortal. When you consider human immortality being achievable in the next 20 years, I’m sure it doesn’t mean indestructible.

So, all that being said, I can imagine that angels have the potential to live forever, without destruction or decay, whether they’re made entirely of soul (as they are in my book, The Watcher), or whether they have a human form, made of flesh. But, apparently, so do we.

WW

6 thoughts on “Are Angels Immortal or Do They Just Use Really Good Moisturizer? (Winged Wednesdays)

  1. Suzanne says:

    I’m glad you’re still doing these posts – I think they’re great!

    Sent from my iPhone
    With Love, Light & Gratitude
    Suzanne

    >

  2. kitsyclare says:

    Interesting post. And the line from Psalm 82 is something new to me. If Lucifer could fall from grace then so could any angel, I suppose. But I think we are all partly immortal, and we all have an angelic spirit in us. Which reminds me, have you seen the new show Believe? It’s obviously very similar to that blockbuster novel, The Passage. Though in some ways different. I think the little girl in that show is angelic. Check it out if you want!

    • lvoisin says:

      Hi Kitsy! Thanks for dropping by. I too believe we have amazing spirits. I think that’s worthy of a post in itself! 🙂

      Haven’t seen “Believe” yet. it’s been PVR’d though. I haven’t read The Passage. Will have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

