Fall 2013 YA Scavenger Hunt #YASH

Hello and Welcome to the Fall YA Scavenger Hunt!

scavenger hunt

Hello! My name is Lisa Voisin and I’m your hostess for this leg of the hunt . I’m a huge fan of fantasy, sci-fi, and romance, but I’ve just discovered Doctor Who (I’m currently on Season 3 — Where have I been?)

Anyhow, you’re here for the hunt, aren’t you? Well, this tri-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some awesome prizes!

The hunt is now over. Thank you to everyone who participated!

The Wee Easter Egg Bonus Draw:

Hey! You’re still here! I’ll be doing a draw for an ebook copy of The Watcher and a signed bookmark. All you have to do to enter is comment on this blog. I’d love to hear from you. If you’re a Doctor Who fan, tell me who your favorite Doctor is. If you’re not a Doctor Who fan, tell me the name of your favorite book.

This draw is now over. Congratulations to Marissa!

However, I’ve got a giveaway on Goodreads right now, open in CANADA and US.

100 thoughts on “Fall 2013 YA Scavenger Hunt #YASH

    • lvoisin says:

      Hi Caroline! Thanks for visiting today! I guess I have something to look forward to, once I start catching up in seasons! πŸ™‚

  1. Ana says:

    Thank you so much for this awesome giveaway!!! Not a fan of Dr. Who and picking a favorite book is like asking which one of my children is my favorite!! LOL

    • lvoisin says:

      Hi Ana, Thanks for visiting today. It is hard to pick a favorite, isn’t it? I don’t know if I’d be able to answer that question myself.

  2. Crystal Anderson says:

    Haven’t seen Dr. Who, but a lot of times my favorite book is the one I’m reading at the moment. But if I have to pick it will always be a Harry Potter fan!

  3. Jessica says:

    This is always weird to explain. BUT 10 was my favorite, but 9 will always be /my/ Doctor. If we had gotten more time with Eccleston as 9, then he probably would have been my favorite, even though I really love Tennant. But I have to go with 10 as my favorite.

    • lvoisin says:

      Hi Jessica, I haven’t seen any Christopher Eccleston. I’ll have to check him out. I’m a bit fangirl over 10 now myself πŸ™‚

    • lvoisin says:

      Hi readingmissfroggy! I do know what you mean. My friends were raving about Doctor Who for years and I’m finally trying it!

  4. Katherine Adams says:

    I am a Doctor Who fan. I really liked David Tennent because of Donna, but I like Matt Smith because Amy and Rory are the best companions. Who wouldn’t love a roman soldier to wait hundreds of years for his true love

  5. Maura says:

    I’m ashamed to say I’ve never seen Doctor Who. I keep meaning to and it keeps falling through the cracks. I would have to say one of my favourite books is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I have several favourites, but that’s one of the top!

  6. Kaitlyn says:

    10 is definitely my favorite Doctor, though I love 11 too. But David Tennant’s acting is just so good…plus, his hair is pretty much perfect. πŸ˜‰ And I love Ten and Rose. ❀

  7. Liliana says:

    Mmm, I don’t watch that show, and I’ve got too many favorite books to count! LOL
    But one of my top favorite series is Mythos Academy by Jennifer Estep!

    • lvoisin says:

      Hi Liliana, Thanks for visiting and for the book tip. I haven’t heard of Mythos Academy, so I’ll have to check it out.

    • lvoisin says:

      Yay! I’ve yet to experience Matt Smith, but I’m really enjoying David Tennant as The Doctor so far! Thanks for dropping by.

  8. Mandy R says:

    I’ve never watched Doctor Who. The favorite book question is always the hardest one. Some of my favorites of the top of my head:
    Divergent
    Unravel Me
    The Infernal Devices Series
    This Dark Endeavor
    Ten by Gretchen MnNeil

  9. Justine W says:

    David Tennent is my favorite doctor, and I wish the voice in my head sounded a lot more like him.

    I understand the Matt Smith fans though, as he has some pretty excellent episodes. (Word of advice: when you get to A Christmas Carol, have tissue nearby.)

    The 9th doctor never gets enough credit. I quite like his sense of humor.

    Anyway, my email is 15juwinans@gmail.com Thanks!

  10. Natasha W says:

    I don’t watch the show… but my favorite book is whatever book I’m reading at the time. So right now I’m reading Monsters by Ilsa Bick

  11. Ivie says:

    Thanks Lisa for hosting and having the extra giveaway. I don’t watch Dr Who (although I have seen a few episodes). My favorite YA series is Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. I love dystopian, and this was the first series that turned me on to the dystopian genre.

  12. Sarah Chan says:

    I like Doctor Who but I’m not a big fan. My sister is. My favorite book would have to be Divergent by Veronica Roth. LOVE it!!

  13. Stacie C. says:

    Thank you so much for the giveaway! My favorite book is the Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld. It was the first dystopian series I read and I just fell in love with all of it!

  14. Diana says:

    I love Matt Smith’s Doctor! I’ve always been drawn to people with his type of energy and personality. Although I do have reason to believe that if I were to spend a lot of time with someone like that they’d drive me crazy.

  15. Abigail Davis :) says:

    Hi! I’m only on the tenth doctor, but he’s definitely my favorite!!
    Good luck to you all and may the odds be ever in your favor πŸ˜€
    ~Abigail~

  16. Jenny Vasquez says:

    Thanks for the giveaway! I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never seen a Doctor Who episode, despite the fact that I have friends who are major fans. I’m overwhelmed on where to even begin to jump into that series. Favorite book?? Geez, that’s like picking a favorite kid, lol.

  17. Geraldine says:

    Gosh, the Tenth Doctor! I’ve tried watching the classic series though…. I haven’t really gotten into it so far… Can’t wait till the 50th anniversary! πŸ˜€

  18. elw7 says:

    I’m a DW fan! I have to say Matt Smith as the Doctor is my favorite! I will really miss him after the Christmas Special!

  19. Lisa Van says:

    I have yet to watch the Doctor Who seires but I will soon since my friends love it and she like the 11th doctor, I think,

    I don’t have a favorite book. All of them are but right now I’m liking The Mortal Instrument.

  20. Brittanie says:

    I enjoy Doctor Who memes but I have yet to actually watch the Doc though I hear it’s pretty great. My favorite book is Ender’s Game and I absolutely cannot wait for the movie to come out!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. Casey says:

    I’ve only seen a few Doctor Who episodes – enough to know I’d love it. So, as soon as I find the time, I’ll go and watch all of them. πŸ™‚

  22. Kaniesha says:

    My favorite book is… well series is the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini but I finished Crown of Midnight by Sarah Maas a few days ago and it was amazing!

  23. Kim Miner says:

    I’m really loyal to Paul McGann (8!) I feel he didn’t get a fair shake with the movie, I loved him in Horatio Hornblower, love his radio plays, and like how good he is to the Whovian fan base

  24. Maggie says:

    The Watcher seems like it’s an amazing book, I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for it the next time I go to a bookstore. As for a favourite book I honestly wouldn’t be able to choose, so I’ll just list a couple, I hope that’s okay πŸ™‚
    The Wolves of Mercy Falls and Raven Boys series by Maggie Stiefvater
    Tiger Saga – Colleen Houck
    The Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare
    Legend- Marie Lu
    Wicked Lovely Series – Melissa Marr
    Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series – Rick Riordan
    High five from a fellow Canadian πŸ™‚

  25. Ashley Jellison says:

    Love the 10th Doctor. He is definitely my favorite:)
    Favorite books:
    Harry Potter
    Percy Jackson
    Maze Runner
    Hunger Games
    The Books Thief
    Scorpio Races
    There are so many more, but I think sooner rather than later something will stop me from typing that much:)

  26. Cheyenne Gallina says:

    I’m so excited to learn that you’re a Whovian too!! It’s so hard to choose my favorite Doctor, but if I had to choose just one I would have to go with David Tennant – Number 10. I loved how quirky he was and how much he pulled at my heart strings, not that the other Doctors didn’t πŸ˜‰ Plus Donna Noble was my favorite companion! πŸ˜€ Anyway, thank you for having this giveaway and getting me all excited about Doctor Who! πŸ˜€

  27. Alie L. says:

    Heard of The Watcher on another website on the scavenger hunt and it is a book I’m definitely going to read! My favorite book is The Chronicles of Vladimir Todd by Heather Brewer

  28. kassiah says:

    I don’t watch TV, and I don’t know my favorite book–too many to choose. I do love Harry Potter and am rereading Divergent to get ready for Allegiant πŸ™‚

    Thanks for this awesome giveaway! I can’t wait to read your book xo

    Kassiah from Swoony Boys Podcast

  29. Joanna W. says:

    Hi, it’s good to meet you; and thanks for joining in YASH!
    I wish I could say I was a Dr. Who fan. My sister-in-law loves that show. I tried watching an episode once and felt so confused, but I think it was b/c I watched it mid-season.
    If you hadn’t read the Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier, you should. It has, for the longest time, been a top book favorite of mine.

  30. Arlene says:

    Love finding fellow Whovians! My favorite Doctor is David Tennant (although I think Christopher Eccleston is fantastic too)! Thanks for the giveaway =]

  31. Melissa Robles says:

    I haven’t watched Doctor Who yet, so I really don’t have a favorite Doctor… but one of my favorite books is Anna and the french kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I like contemporary reads! πŸ˜‰ Thank you for the extra giveaway!

  32. Mary McCormick says:

    DOCTOR WHO! I LOVE YOU FOREVER!!!! My favourtie doctor has to be David Tennant, with Christopher Eccleson coming just behind… and as for my favourite book, well where to start? there are too many good books out there…
    Thanks for doing YASH and making it international! (as i come from Wales)

  33. Francine Soleil says:

    I stopped watching Dr. Who after I saw the angels. Those were too creepy for me!

    I have too many favorite books and I’m not sure which one to choose! Erm. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins or Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan or Starters by Lissa Price. So much more!

  34. Kim F says:

    Well my all time favorite book are Gone With The Wind and Pride and Prejudice … oldies but goodies! But my more recent favs are “The Tiger Saga” books … love them! I just finished the “Fins books” and loved them too … oh boy … the list could go on and on!!! Thanks for doing the hunt! It’s always so much fun!!!

  35. BΓ‘rbara says:

    Well, even if now I’m in the David Tennant series, my favorite Doctor ever is Christopher Eccleston, because he’s my first Doctor and he made me the whovian I am now πŸ™‚ And, also, he’s fantastic!

  36. Megan Rigdon says:

    My FAVORITE book?? But, but, there are so many! I don’t think I could pick just one, but I will say the book that got me back into reading again was Harry Potter: The Goblet of Fire. I know you’re probably thinking, the fourth? But they were all so good! And you are right they are all so good, but for whatever reason, I read the fourth one first, I don’t know why because I never do that. Anyway, it’s still my favorite Harry Potter book, mainly because of the tiny dragons… πŸ˜›

  37. Eleanor says:

    I am not a Doctor Who fan (but I think I’ll start watching it because everyone loves it) and my favorite book has got to be Champion by Marie Lu

  38. Cindy C. says:

    I’ve never seen Doctor Who, but sounds interesting. My favorite YA book is The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong. I love stories about ghosts.

  39. hailyhay says:

    Not a Doctor Who fan, though I’ve heard a lot about it. I don’t particularly have a favorite book, but the first thing that pops to mind is the Emperor’s Edge series by Lindsay Buroker. Her characters… just awesome.

  40. Kaitlin says:

    I’ve never seen Doctor Who, so . . . favorite book? Gosh, that’s tough. One of my most recent favorites from the summer is The Collector by Victoria Scott. πŸ™‚

  41. Yun-A says:

    Thanks so much for doing YASH!

    My favorite book would have to be Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi. It changes every now and then, though.

  42. Nauma Haider says:

    Hey! At the moment, my favorite doctor is definitely the 11th (Matt Smith)! Such a goofy guy! =) My favorite book is The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy!

  43. Jessica D says:

    I got into Doctor Who over the summer. Powered watched them all on Netflix. My boyfriend was interested in the few parts that he caught so we started it all over from the beginning (meaning the 9th Doctor) I have yet to watch the classics but I’m going to. Chris Eccleston will always be my Doctor because he’s the one that got me hooked to the series. But I do adore the others as well.

  44. google.com says:

    Hi there outstanding website! Does running a blog like this take a great
    deal of work? I have very little understanding of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyways, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners
    please share. I understand this is off subject but I simply
    needed to ask. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

