Character Interview: Dylanie from Shrapnel by Stephanie Lawton #YALitchat #Paranormal

ShrapnelTour

In case you thought characters in books weren’t real, I’m going to challenge that. Today, I have a special guest on my blog: Dylan Reid from the novel, SHRAPNEL, by Stephanie Lawton.

Welcome to my blog, Dylan. I’m thrilled to have you here today. Can you start off by telling us your name and the title of the book you live in?

I’m Dylan Reid—please don’t call me Dylanie—and I’m a character in Shrapnel by Stephanie Lawton.

Describe to our readers your role in the book.
My role … guess I’m the Oscar the Grouch character. I’m the main female protagonist, but let’s just say I don’t have the best attitude and my mouth often gets me in trouble. (No, not like that, you perv.)

How did you convince your author to put you in this book? For example, did you visit a dream or make yourself known some other way?
Like the other two teen characters in Shrapnel, I appeared to Steph in the shower. She’d already written the opening prologue, but she didn’t know much about me except my voice. My name, abilities and details appeared somewhere between “lather” and “rinse.”

Is your author easy to work with or controlling?
She was pretty cool. She gets me, gets my attitude and the reasons behind it, so we got along well, which is weird because I usually don’t get along with other chicks.

Would you tell us about one of your favorite friends from this book? 

She’s more than a friend, she’s my baby sister. I know most siblings fight, and I’m sure we will when she’s a little older, but right now Lily’s one of the best things in my life. She keeps me grounded and gives me a reason to smile (which, let me tell you, doesn’t happen very much). She’s got the cutest curls and rosy cheeks. In other words, she’s the total opposite of me. I love that.

What would you like our readers to know about you? 

My particular brand of crazy isn’t contagious.

Did you learn anything during your adventure in this book?
That’s a pretty stupid question. There wouldn’t be much point to the story if I didn’t learn anything. So yeah, I learned how to use my abilities, how to control them a little, and I learned not to be quite so cynical all the time. There are still good people out there who’ve got my back.

Can you tell us what you think is the most exciting thing that happened to you in your book?

Seriously? You want me to give everything away? Not a chance, but I will tell you that I know where your missing keys are hiding. Oh, and your great-grandfather says hello. He’s kinda a cute for a dead guy.

Is there anything in your story you wish you hadn’t done? Why?
Bahahahaha! Read the book.

What was your main motivation?

Insecurity. Fear. At the end, it was love.

Introduce us to your main adversary?
At the beginning, pretty much everyone was an adversary. By the end, I guess I was my own worst enemy. Some will argue that Jackson, a Civil War ghost, was the main villain, but I don’t see it that way. You be the judge.

Is there anything you would like to have done but your author stopped you?
Oh, man, that’s so dangerous. If I got to act on all my murderous impulses, they’d have locked me away when I was in kindergarten, lol! There were things I would have liked to do—to have gone further—but I can see now how that would’ve been a bad idea. So, ya know, thanks Steph (but don’t get all mushy on me).

Here’s your chance to speak your mind. What do you want to tell everybody?
Be nice to us freaks. We can either be your friend or we can make your life hell.

Flash questions:

  • Craziest thing you’ve ever done?
    Heh. Read the book.
  • Biggest regret?
    Again, read the book. I did some seriously crazy sh—stuff.
  • If you were to get a tattoo, what would it be, where, and why?
    So glad you asked! I’d love to get a tattoo that says “Rebel” on the back of my right shoulder in red, white and blue. Around it, I’d have 3-D pieces of shrapnel poking out of the skin, with the skin peeled back and a few drops of … well, you get the idea.
  • Favorite book?
    Fear In Words: The Stories by an indie author named Jason Darrick. He writes some seriously messed-up shit, so please don’t tell my mom about it. She’d have a fit.
  • Someone asks you to go skydiving. What’s your answer?
    Depends on if I see us surviving or not. If I get an image of laughing and having fun? Hell, yeah. If I see a plane crashing and exploding into flames, ain’t no way you’re getting me near a parachute.
  • If they were to name a crayon color after you, what would it be?
    Goth-Girl Gray
  • Were you easy or hard to write?
    Easy. I gave my author an outlet for her sarcasm.
  • Your motto?
    Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on—no, there won’t be a second time.
  • Absolute worst thing you’ve ever done?
    I almost turned my baby sister into an only child.
  • Detail about yourself that’s not in your book?
    I’m scared of spiders. (Shut up, I know it’s girly.)

About SHRAPNEL:

teen-shrapnel4 (1)It’s been six years since Dylanie and her family visited a Civil War site and the place came alive with cannon fire. Problem was, no one could hear it but her.

Now she’s sixteen, her dad’s moved out, her mom’s come out of the closet and Dylan’s got a spot on Paranormal Teen, a reality TV show filming at historic Oakleigh Mansion. She’ll spend a weekend with two other psychic teens—Jake and Ashley—learning how to control her abilities.

None of them realized how much their emotional baggage would put them at the mercy of Oakleigh’s resident spirits, or that they’d find themselves pawns in the 150-year-old battle for the South’s legendary Confederate gold. Each must conquer their personal ghosts to face down Jackson, a seductive spirit who will do anything to protect the gold’s current location and avenge a heinous attack that destroyed his family.

Author Bio:

After collecting a couple English degrees in the Midwest, Stephanie Lawton suddenly awoke in the deepest reaches of the StephLawtonDeep South. Culture shock inspired her to write about Mobile, Alabama, her adopted city, and all the ways Southern culture, history and attitudes seduce the unsuspecting.

A lover of all things gothic, she can often be spotted photographing old cemeteries, historic buildings and, ironically, the beautiful beaches of the Gulf Coast. She also has a tendency to psychoanalyze people, which comes in handy when creating character profiles.

Links:

Goodreads SHRAPNEL
Goodreads Stephanie Lawton 
Stephanie Lawton’s Facebook 
Stephanie Lawton’s Twitter
Stephanie Lawton’s Website

Purchase SHRAPNEL on Amazon
Purchase SHRAPNEL at Barnes and Noble

International Giveaway:

Five (5) eBook copies of SHRAPNEL are available to be won on  Rafflecopter. (opens a new window)

Thanks, Stephanie Lawton, for letting us visit with Dylan today.  So, what do you think of Dylan? Wasn’t she fun to meet? Doesn’t SHRAPNEL sound fantastic?

 

4 thoughts on “Character Interview: Dylanie from Shrapnel by Stephanie Lawton #YALitchat #Paranormal

  1. How To Make Blog says:

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!

  2. click here for it services toronto says:

    Fantastic blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you suggest starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any recommendations? Appreciate it!

  3. Sushanth Singh says:

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally
    educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about.

    I’m very happy that I found this in my search for something
    relating to this.

Leave a Reply

