Winged Wednesdays: Castiel from #Supernatural – My Favorite TV Angel

Castiel (Supernatural)

Castiel (Supernatural) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This Winged Wednesdays post is dedicated to my favorite angel on TV. Castiel from Supernatural. I was going to do a whole post on TV angels, but the top of that list has to be Castiel. For those of you who don’t know, Castiel first appears in the fourth season of the TV show Supernatural. If you’ve never watched the show, you can read a bit more about Castiel on Wikipedia.

Those of you who have followed the show, here’s a refresher: From http://supernatural.wikia.com/wiki/Castiel

Castiel, a Fallen Angel of the Lord, was responsible for pulling Dean Winchester out of Hell in “Lazarus Rising,” on God’s command. It was his job to help prevent Lilith from breaking the 66 Seals that, once broken, would release Lucifer from his cage. Once Castiel learned that the angels wished to free Lucifer, he defied his angelic brethren and died trying to help Dean prevent Sam from breaking the last seal.

Why He’s My Fave:

So, in addition to being a kick ass warrior, Castiel is the show’s ‘straight man‘ to Sam and Dean’s (especially Dean’s) funny lines. He’s serious and intense, wise in the ways of Heaven but naive in the ways of the world.  For the ‘straight man’, he also gets some great lines.

He gets some of the best lines I’ve ever heard:

“My “People skills” are “rusty”. Pardon me, but I’ve spent the past “Year” as a multidimensional wavelength of celestial intent.”

“I remember the Tower of Babel, all 37 feet of it, which I suppose was impressive at the time. And when it fell, they howled ‘Divine Wrath’, but come on, dried dung can only be stacked so high.”

“If the pizza man truly loves this babysitter, why does he…” (WARNING: adult content)

He smites demons by his touch:

Even though he’s fallen (twice), Castiel retains all his powers as a Seraph. And of all the superpowers, this one rocks my world. He’s the guy I want to bring to a fight. Nobody smites like Cass.

Here are some great examples.

And this…

Honorable mention:

The trench coat and gravelly voice. Yeah, those are just props, but they’re as much a part of Castiel as his shadowy wings and lack of a halo.

WW

These are just some of my favorite things about Cass. Do you watch Supernatural? If so, what are your favorite lines?

3 thoughts on “Winged Wednesdays: Castiel from #Supernatural – My Favorite TV Angel

    • lvoisin says:

      Not to be all fangirl about it, but I totally agree! 🙂 Thanks for visiting! It’s good to meet someone who appreciates a great character!

      • Andrew J. Stillman says:

        Oh it’s my pleasure =) Honestly, I don’t even know how Mischa Collins pulls off being that awesome. I saw him in 24 and Charmed and Nip/Tuck and a couple of other guest appearances he did and I would have NEVER guessed he could pull out that extreme awesome character

Leave a Reply

