Winged Wednesday: Why, if you say angels exist, I’d be inclined to agree…

candles
I wrote this post a few hours after I completed teaching a meditation class in Winnipeg, Canada. Well, I call it a mediation class, but to me, it’s much, much more.

You see, in addition to being a writer, I teach meditation with the Training in Power Academy. But what I also do is help people find out who they really are.

What do I mean by that? We all know who we are, right? So how can I help anyone find something they already know?

Good question! The answer is not that simple. I believe we all came in here knowing ourselves as spirits. We came in to this life without the ability to speak. When we are born, we can hardly even see this world, but I believe we sense we are connected to something. We are pure potential. That potential is what makes us so special. We are pure and, on some level, we know we’ve come in for a reason.
However, as we grow older, we learn to see this world we’re in. We learn to move in it, we learn to survive, we learn to speak. We learn some of this on our own, but most of it is taught. So we also learn from each other. Every experience teaches us something. However, no matter how much our parents love us and want to protect us, they don’t know everything, and life, both good and bad, or joyful and difficult, still happens. We have our lessons.

We develop habits and patterns that help us get by. Over time, these habits get stronger, some of them are good habits, like brushing and flossing our teeth or developing good eating habits. But some of these habits don’t serve us, like judging ourselves too harshly or neglecting our health.

So, really, when I teach these meditation classes, I do much, much more than teach people how to meditate. I help people reconnect to their dreams, their own feelings, and even what they came here to do. The courses I teach help people reconnect to their potential. They may not be children again, but they can learn to let go of their old habits and make the best of the time they have.

Through simple meditation exercises, visualization work and energy work, I endeavor to guide people to their power, where they come to realize and remember their own abilities.

As I teach, I am gifted with watching the participants in my classes grow and learn. I see elder people finding new energy and mobility in their lives, fearful people learning to live without fear, or shy ones sticking up for themselves.

And it is in those moments that I am reminded of the fact that there is much, much more than just us going on here. There is something truly wonderful about the process of life.

We aren’t alone. And if you wanted to say that angels exist, I’d be inclined to agree. I can see our potential, and I know that there’s more going on, that we are on a journey here.

What does this have to do with writing teen paranormal romance? Well, to me, paranormal is normal, and every romance is a potential lesson in self-love and self-awareness. Learning to love through any challenge or darkness is the lesson of spirit. It might not be to love the bad boy, in hopes of fixing him, but love for the sake of loving.

Love to be a force of love in the world.

Because, really, the world has the potential for great things, and it needs and deserves our love.

So, my wish for you this holiday season, and in the year to come, is that you may find love and peace among the simplest things. Most of all, may you find peace within yourself. Because if you can find that, everything will flow from there.

Who knows? We might even have peace on earth.

4 thoughts on “Winged Wednesday: Why, if you say angels exist, I’d be inclined to agree…

  1. drew says:

    Wow what a great description of the class you teach! For those that have not already done so you should definitely experience the class for yourself. You owe it to yourself.

Leave a Reply

