Interview with Eileen Cook

I’m thrilled to have one of my favorite authors, Eileen Cook, on my blog today. Eileen’s contemporary Young Adult novels keep me up reading all night, usually laughing out loud at her quirky and irresistible characters. Needless to say, when she offered a course on Character Creation at Capilano University, I jumped at the chance to study with her and was thrilled to find out she’s just as much fun in person as her books are to read!

almosttruthBook Summary:

From the author of Unraveling Isobel and The Education of Hailey Kendrick, a smart, romantic novel about a teenage con artist who might be in over her head.

Sadie can’t wait to get away from her backwards small town, her delusional mom, her jailbird dad, and the tiny trailer where she was raised…even though leaving those things behind also means leaving Brendan. Sadie wants a better life, and she has been working steadily toward it, one con at a time.

But when Sadie’s mother wipes out Sadie’s savings, her escape plan is suddenly gone. She needs to come up with a lot of cash—and fast—or she’ll be stuck in this town forever.

With Brendan’s help, she devises a plan—the ultimate con—to get the money. But the more lies Sadie spins, the more she starts falling for her own hoax…and perhaps for the wrong boy. Sadie wanted to change her life, but she wasn’t prepared to have it flipped upside down by her own deception. With her future at stake and her heart on the line, suddenly it seems like she has a lot more than just money to lose….

The Almost Truth releases today, December 4th and can be found in bookstores everywhere: B&N, Indie Bound, Chapters/Indigo,  Powell’s.

Interview:

In The Almost Truth, Sadie is a con artist. What drew you to that particular vocation for her?

I was intrigued with the idea of writing a character who has a “flexible” sense of morality. Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Her dad is in and out of jail and her mom isn’t in a situation to be able to provide for her. She isn’t the type to sit back and see what happens, she goes after what she wants.

You’ve written many books with many engaging characters. Is there one of them that you relate to more than the others? If so, who?

The character I most relate to is always the main character of the book I’m currently writing. I think this is because I am spending so much time in their head. I tend to wander around thinking “what would they think of this? How would they deal with that?” They go everywhere with me like a best friend or a secret twin.

What is the one thing you wish you knew before you started writing?

I think ignorance might be a good thing! I didn’t know how hard the process of publishing would be, if I had known I don’t know if I would have tried. I also didn’t know how amazing it would feel to see my book on the shelf.

What was the last book you read that made you stay up all night reading or laugh out loud?

I stayed up way too late reading GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn. It’s a very dark thriller, but the author kept me guessing right up until the end. It was a “just one more chapter” type of book.

I hear you like movies too. What is your favorite movie, and why?

I love movies! My favorite romantic comedy is Love Actually. My all time favorite, I can watch it anytime movie, is The Shawshank Redemption. I also love old classic movies. On a rainy day there are few things better than settling in with Katherine Hepburn, Clark Gable, and Jimmy Stewart.

Is there one treat or comfort that you need to have around you when you write? If so, what is it?

I am completely addicted to David’s Teas. My current favorites for the season are the Chocolate Chili Chai and their Santa’s Secret that has wee candy canes mixed in with the team. Mmmmm. I may have to go make a pot now.

I’ve heard that your first novel, Unpredictable, has been optioned for a movie. Congratulations! Aside from this one, which other one would you most like to see made into a movie and why?

This is a hard question! When I write I tend to see the story play out like a movie in my head. This makes picturing any of my books on the big screen fairly easy. Right now if I had to choose, I would pick making THE ALMOST TRUTH into a movie. This is likely due in part to the fact that I’m spending all sorts of time thinking about the story, but also because there are a lot of twists to the book that would make (in my humble opinion) a great movie.

Finally some fun, this or that questions:

  • Coffee or Tea? Tea!
  • Hard Ice cream or Gelato? Why must one choose? If I must pick- mint chocolate chip ice cream
  • Star Trek or Star Wars? Star Wars
  • Telepathy or Telekinesis? I’d take either- but telepathy would likely get me into the most trouble.

Thank you so much for stopping by today, Eileen. I can’t wait to read The Almost Truth and look forward to many more books to come!

About Eileen Cook

Eileen Cook is a multi-published author with her novels appearing in eight different languages. She spent most of her teen years wishing she were someone else or somewhere else, which is great training for a writer. Her latest release, The Almost Truth came out in Dec 2012.
You can read more about Eileen, her books, and the things that strike her as funny at www.eileencook.com. Eileen lives in Vancouver with her husband and two dogs and no longer wishes to be anyone or anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

