Fiction Friday: Interview with Aubrie Dionne and Colonization Giveaway

Today, it’s my pleasure to introduce you to multi-published author Aubrie Dionne. She’s on my blog today, to talk about writing and her wonderful new Young Adult Sci-Fi novel, Colonization.

About the Author:

Aubrie Dionne writes science fiction fantasy with romantic elements. Her writings have appeared in Mindflights, Niteblade, Silver Blade, Emerald Tales, Hazard Cat, Moon Drenched Fables, A Fly in Amber, and Aurora Wolf. Her books are published by Inkspell Publishing, Entangled Publishing, Lyrical Press, and Gypsy Shadow Publishing. She’s also a professional flutist in New England.

Aubrie, when did you know you wanted to be a writer? Was it something you always wanted to do?

I’ve written my whole life. I wrote my first poem in elementary school about the fact I’ll never get to see a unicorn. After that, in high school I wrote a fantasy book about a flutist who goes back in time to impress the king as a minstrel in his court. But, my writing took a back seat to my other love, music, for many years. It was only when my flute students told me the stories I made to go along with their music were too good not to be written down. I took their advice, and here I am today!

Where did the idea for writing Colonization come from?

I had just finished Paradise 21 from my New Dawn series, and I had to know what happened to the crew of the New Dawn. Only, when I started to write it, it came out as a young adult book, and I knew I’d birthed an entirely new series!

The characters Andromeda, Sirius, and Corvus are vivid and well-developed and the love triangle in Colonization is handled so well. Which character do you relate to the most and why?

Thank you! Unlike Andromeda, I always studied in school. I was the teacher’s pet in the front row getting straight A’s. None of the boys liked me, maybe because of my teacher’s pet status, so I really think I identify with Nova the most!

The world you’ve built for Colonization is so vivid and real. How do you build the world in your stories? What advice do you have?

Thank you again! You are so kind and supportive! I definitely think of words to use to bring the clearest images. Sometimes I google pictures and search until I find the perfect one, then try to describe it. Books play out like movies in my head, and then I try to do the pictures justice with my words.

Was there another direction you originally envisioned this story going? Or was there something that changed in the editing process that you thought was a sure thing?

The story came out just the way I wanted it to! In fact, it wrapped up even better than I thought it would. There was one unexpected character that my CP wanted to know more about, Nova. So, I made her the protagonist of the sequel!

I’ve heard The Colonization is first in a series, and that you’ve written other books in this universe. How many books do you have in your head? Do you have them mapped out?

This universe is never ending, kind of like our own! I have two more books planned in this series, then I have a new YA sci if series coming out in 2013 that takes place back on Earth before the apocalypse. That would be about a thousand years before the New Dawn reaches Paradise 21!

Do you have a favorite book or a favorite author? Who/what is it, and why?

I love Patricia McKillip. Her words are like music, and her books mesmerize me. My favorite book by her is Winter Rose. I’ve read it so many times!

What is the one thing you wish you knew before you started writing?

That people will tear you down in horrible, dare I say disrespectful, snarky reviews. People have so much meanness inside of them. Some people feel better about themselves by pointing out other people’s flaws. Why do they live this way? I have no idea.

I’m sorry to hear that! I have seen some horrible reviews for books that I abosolutely loved. Unfortunately, they say it takes three positive things to undo a negative. I hope you receive at least that ratio in positive feedback for your book. I really loved it!

Finally some fun, this or that questions:

  • Coffee or Tea?:  Both! I love caffeine.
  • Hard Ice cream or Gelato?: I eat frozen yogurt. Wish I could eat ice cream. *sigh*
  • Star Trek or Star Wars?:  LOVE THEM BOTH!!!
  • Telepathy or Telekinesis?: OMG, I can’t choose. They are both so darn cool!

Thanks again, Aubrie for doing this interview. It’s wonderful getting to know you a bit better. I totally agree about the telepathy or telekinesis part. They’d both be too much fun!

Visit her website: http://www.authoraubrie.com

Find Aubrie on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2964057.Aubrie_Dionne

Aubrie’s Blog: http://authoraubrie.blogspot.com

Twitter: @authoraubrie

Here’s Aubrie’s latest novel, Colonization:

“Forbidden love on a paradise planet that’s anything but paradise…Dionne’s Colonization will keep you guessing.” – Cherie Reich, author of Defying Gravity

 About Colonization:

Finding a new home has never been so dangerous.

Andromeda has spent all seventeen years of her life aboard a deep space transport vessel destined for a paradise planet. Her safe cocoon is about to break open as Paradise 21 looms only one month away, and she must take the aptitude tests to determine her role on the new world and her computer assigned lifemate. As a great-granddaughter of the Commander of the ship, she wants to live up to her family name. But, her forbidden love for her childhood friend, Sirius, distracts her and she fails the tests. The results place her in a menial role in the new colony and pair her with Corvus, “the oaf”.

But when Andromeda steps foot on Paradise 21, her predestined future is the least of her worries. Alien ghosts from a failed colonization warn her of a deadly threat to her colony. And when Sirius’s ship crashes on the far ridge in an attempt to investigate, she journeys to rescue him with Corvus.

Andromeda now must convince the authorities of the imminent danger to protect her new home. What she didn’t expect was a battle of her own feelings for Sirius and Corvus.

Can she save the colony and discover her true love?

You can buy Colonization at:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Inkspell Publishing

Giveaway:

Thank you all for letting me introduce you to Aubrie! Colonization is a great read for fans of both science fiction and romance. There’s an awesome giveaway at the Inkspell Publishing site. I hope you go visit here: http://www.inkspellpublishing.com/1/post/2012/10/colonization-release-day.html

2 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Interview with Aubrie Dionne and Colonization Giveaway

Leave a Reply

