Fiction Friday: Interview with Stephanie Keyes – Author of The Star Child

Today it is my absolute pleasure to interview Stephanie Keyes, author of The Star Child, a young adult urban fantasy from Inkspell Publishing.

What made you want to become a writer? Was it something you always wanted to do?

Great question! Coming up with the idea for The Star Child is what did it. I was a noncommittal writer previously. I’d start following an idea and get some characters down on paper (first a notebook, then a brother word processor, and then a laptop!) but I never fell in love with any of the ideas. As soon as the idea of a “Star Child” hit me, I realized that in those instances I didn’t choose to write about what interested me.

When I was younger, I dreamt of being a journalist. I was the editor of my high school paper and all that. However, I didn’t like the idea of pushing people for information. It seemed too nosy, too aggressive to me. I actually left writing behind and became a Music Education major, studying classical clarinet. You know, because those are such similar fields. *smiles*

The Star Child is really what made the idea of being a ‘serious writer’ hit home. When I was writing the book, I felt like I’d come home.

Where did your inspiration for writing The Star Child come from?

My husband and I took a tour of Ireland for our fifth anniversary and the places that we visited were incredible. When you’re there, it feels as though magic is just a step away from you at any moment. Although I didn’t know I’d write a book about it at the time!

Kellen and Calienta are such interesting characters. Which one of them is most like you?

Thank you very much! Oh, Kellen. Kellen has so many of my qualities. He looks for patterns in data points, he’s a book geek, a chronic repressor… The only differencs are that I’m more concerned about my hair and I’m not at all as skeptical as he is!

You explore a lot of Celtic mythology in The Star Child. What drew you to that? Have you always loved the Celtic myths?

My Grandmother, Betty… Her grandmother was from Ireland and she told me all sorts of stories about the place. Some true, some not so true. However, she got me curious. What I didn’t get from her, I read about. There are so many great reads on mythology out there!

Was there another direction you originally envisioned this story going? Or was there something that changed in the editing process that you thought was a sure thing?

It’s funny. When I was writing, I wouldn’t admit to myself that I was writing a book. The idea intimidated me, which of course only made me want to keep writing. I made some big changes to the book before it even when into editing. Originally, Kellen went to Scotland to search for his mother and he experienced what, in the book, occurs in a dream. That section also ran much longer.  However, it didn’t move the store along, so it had to go.

I’ve heard The Star Child is first in a series. How many books do you have in your head? Do you have them mapped out?

Yes! I have planned for three books. That’s probably where I’ll end up. I am in the editing process for The Fallen Stars (book two) now. It is tentatively due out in April 2013. Currently, I’m writing The Star Catcher (book three). They are about double the length of The Star Child so there will many more pages to come!

Do you have a favorite book or a favorite author? Who/what is it, and why?

It’s so hard to narrow it down to just one, but I really enjoy O.R.Melling. Her Chronicles of Faerie books are so creative and original. She really inspired me when I wrote The Star Child. Also, her knowledge of folklore is so impressive.

What is the one thing you wish you knew before you started writing?

The power of a writer’s group! I didn’t connect with a writer’s group until right around the time that I started writing The Fallen Stars in May of this year. Between May and July, when I finished my first draft, the advice and feedback that they gave me was absolutely invaluable. They are a part of The Society For Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and their association has helped me to become a better writer. I wish I would have found them first!

Finally some fun, this or that questions:

Awesome! I love fun questions!

  • Coffee or Tea?:  Coffee. Definitely coffee.
  • Hard Ice cream or Gelato?: Gelato
  • Star Trek or Star Wars?: Star Wars
  • Telepathy or Telekinesis?: Telekinesis

 The Star Child

About the Book

The world is about to be cloaked in darkness. Only one can stop the night.

Kellen St. James has spent his entire life being overlooked as an unwanted, ordinary, slightly geeky kid. That is until a beautiful girl, one who has haunted his dreams for the past eleven years of his life, shows up spinning tales of a prophecy. Not just any old prophecy either, but one in which Kellen plays a key role.

Suddenly, Kellen finds himself on the run through a Celtic underworld of faeries and demons, angels and gods, not to mention a really ticked off pack of hellhounds, all in order to save the world from darkness. But will they make it in time?

Available at: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository, Allromanceebooks, Kobo and the Inkspell Publishing Website

See the Book Trailer 

 Enter the Giveaway 

Stephanie Keyes is a wonderful voice for a new generation of YA readers. She has skilfully blended mythology and faerie-tale into an original and enthralling story.  Pure magick! I’m looking forward to more. – Maya Snow, Author of Sisters Of The Snow

Mini Review:

I’d have to say that The Star Child is a  wonderful read for those who love young adult urban fantasy. It features a seventeen-year-old genius, Kellan, who meets Calienta the girl of his dreams–literally. Kellan has been dreaming of Calienta most of his life. Little did he know he had a destiny to fulfill. I enjoyed Kellan and Calienta both as characters and in relationship, but as a fan of romance, I coudn’t help but want more. I do believe that fans of the Percy Jackson series will truly enjoy The Star Child for its world of Celtic gods and goddesses and Kellan’s grand adventure.

 

3 thoughts on “Fiction Friday: Interview with Stephanie Keyes – Author of The Star Child

  1. Stephanie Keyes says:

    Hi Lisa!
    Thank you very much for hosting The Star Child today. Your interview questions were fun and I very much appreciate the review. I’m glad that you enjoyed meeting Kellen and Calienta!

Leave a Reply

