Winged Wednesdays: The Mothman and the Owlman – Fallen Angels?

Can I start by saying that I love conspiracy theorists? As an author of paranormal fiction, the ideas they come up with rock my world!

Watch this and enjoy, especially the creepy music and sound effects. Oh, and did I say bad grammar? (Should’ve saved this one for halloween!)

Did any of you spot the date in the bridge photo? Taken in 2003. So much for 1966! There’s authenticity for you!

The Mothman

A legendary creature apparently spotted around Point Pleasant, West Virginia from November 15, 1966 to December 1967. It’s described as a giant bird-man with glowing red eyes. Some say it’s white. Others, depict it as black.

Author, John Keel, in his book The Mothman Prophecies, linked this man-bird-creature to many events, including the collapse of the Silver Bridge (which is covered in the movie of the same name, starring Riched Gere).

Some believe this creature was an alien. Others, still, believe the mothman to be a fallen angel.

Wow! Creepy!

Skeptics, of course, believe it was just a really big owl and some red flashlights, or the red-eye effect that siamese cats exhibit when exposed to light or people exhibit in camera flashes. The thing that stands out about the mothman is that so many people saw it in such a short period of time, and then it disappeared. Owls wouldn’t do that.

I couldn’t find any royalty free photos about the mothman, so if you want to see some pictures, there’s a really fun blog post with photos here.

The Owlman

The Owlman was first seen in April 1976 in Mawnan, Cornwall. A man, Don Melling, said his two daughters, 12-year-old June and 9-year-old Vicky, were walking through the woods near Mawnan church when they saw a large winged creature hovering above the church tower.

The creature frightened them, so they told their father.

Two months later, a 14-year-old girl also saw an owl as big as a man, in the same area. It had pointed ears, red eyes, and black, pincer-like claws.

Skeptics say it might be an eagle owl. But when you say Owlman to me, I think of the book, Skellig, by David Almond and its movie, starring Tim Roth.

There’s an awesome video on the Owlman at Animal Planet. Unfortunately WordPress won’t let me embed it. #fail

I can’t say what these creatures are, but as an author and a lover of great story, I’m going with the conspiracy theorists and calling them fallen angels, or the nephilim, the monstrous offspring of the Watchers.

Okay, just for fun, I’ll include one image of the ‘mothman’, which I’m borrowing from the Animal Planet page (so please click the link to the page and visit them, okay? I have no idea where the image came from).

So much for fallen angels being sexy, huh? I’ll stick with Patch from Hush, Hush.

How about you? Have you seen the movie The Mothman Prophecies, or Skellig? Have you ever seen anything flying through the sky that looked like it shouldn’t be there? Any theories out there?

12 thoughts on “Winged Wednesdays: The Mothman and the Owlman – Fallen Angels?

  1. Hannah says:

    Holy sh*t. I never knew what to think of these creatures, I heard the story briefly of the mothman but found him all to mystical to even contemplate there being such a being. . . However, ever since my fiance told me the story of the Mothman, I’ve become rather intrigued by this creature and the stories he’s managed to whip up about himself and the silver bridge collapse.

    • lvoisin says:

      There is a lot of interesting stuff out there about the Mothman. There seem to be more recent sightings of him online too. I don’t recommend you go all Richard Gere and start talking to the Mothman, though, or seeking him out. It doesn’t bode well to do that.

  2. Daniel Collins says:

    Yes I have seen the Owlman or Mothman it’s been showing up on my Verandah at night lately, it comes and goes, I even took a photo of it. It seems to take off if I try to go out on the Verandah, but I managed to photo the screen images off my security camera that covers the Verandah. It seemed to effect the light on the camera, as if it knew when I was going to photo it but numerous of the photos were not distorted and you can see it clearly.

  3. Daniel Colllins says:

    Is there a way I can load the photo of the Owl like Moth like creature thats been frequenting my Verandah? Can you please tell me how to load the photo? Daniel.

    • lvoisin says:

      Hi Daniel,

      Thanks for dropping by. I’m not sure how to upload the image into a comment. Perhaps try uploading ti to flickr, Instagram or twitter and link to it?

Leave a Reply

