The Next Big Thing Blog Challenge

The extremely talented Stephanie Lawton tagged me in The Next Big Thing blog challenge, where you get to learn all about someone’s book/WIP/ms.  Read about Stephanie’s debut novel, Want, here.

The requirements of the challenge:

First: Answer the questions below.

Then:  Spread the fun and tag 5 more awesome people to participate.

It’s also nice to link back to the person. Sharing is caring, y’all.

What is the title of your book / WIP?

The Watcher

Where did the idea of this book come from?

I’ve had the idea of a story about a boy who woke up one day to discover he was an angel for about 8 years. But it wasn’t until I wrote it that I realized how many influences there were: the films Wings of Desire, City of Angels, and Constantine; the radio play, Murder Mysteries, by Neil Gaiman, and a ton of daydreaming!

What genre would your book fall under?

Young adult paranormal romance, though I prefer “Romantic thriller,” because there are some thrills in it, for sure.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

It took me a long time to find a human who could play Michael. I needed the right combination of sin and innocence. The closest I can get is perhaps a younger  Henry Cavill. Mia is also pretty elusive. I can picture her clearly in my head, but I have nobody in mind to play her, maybe Vanessa Hudgens. I’m still open for suggestion though, so if anyone comes to mind when you read it, do let me know!

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Millennia ago, he fell from heaven for her; can he face her without falling again?

or

Seventeen-year-old Mia develops psychic abilities when she meets a boy, with the soul of an angel, who was her lover in a past life.

Is your book published or represented?

It will be published with Inkspell Publishing in March 2013.

How long did it take you to write it?

I hammered out a first draft in three and a half months and then reworked it for three years as I learned how to actually write a novel.

What other books in your genre would you compare it to?

From what I’ve read in the genre, there’s a strong romantic element more akin to Fallen or Twilight  than Hush,Hush, but Mia is a very different character from Luce, as is Michael, and their challenges are very different.  There’s more direct interaction with demons, like you might see in the Mortal Instruments, and a hint of the classics like Pride and Prejudice and Hamlet thrown in for good measure!

The best comparison I can make is using movies. This is like City of Angels meets Constantine.

Now, the really fun part. Tagging 5 more people! I love a lot of people’s work, but these are the five folks whose brains I’d really like to pick on this! Your turn!

Annabelle Blume

Sasha Summers

Cecilia Roberts

T. Michelle Nelson

Debbie Petersen

One thought on “The Next Big Thing Blog Challenge

  1. Cecilia Robert says:

    Thanks for the tag, Lisa.Enjoyed the questions and answers. Sorry for getting back to you this late. Was away from my computer the last 7 days. Aw…I just love Henry Cavill 🙂 Will def. link to you once I put up mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

