Guest Post from A.E. Howard – Flight of Blue #Giveaway

I met Anna through JuNoWriMo this year, and when I found out she had a book tour coming, I was happy to host her.

I’m so pleased to be visiting Lisa’s blog today. When she and I talked about this post, she asked me what I liked best about the work of writing, and so, here’s my list.

  1. I can talk about my characters like they’re real people and no one thinks I have voices in my head. I think. (What was that Reginald? I’m sorry Kai called you Reggie again, but you need to work this out between the two of you. Yes. No, I can’t control him. Would you like me to control you? I didn’t think so).
  1. I get to work on a flexible schedule. If flexible means working when my son is asleep, and dealing with my boss who can be a real slave driver. I mean, the publishing deadlines she sets sometimes you wouldn’t believe! It makes for interesting staff meetings though…
  1. The whole world is frequently more colorful and interesting because I see it as though it’s being described in a novel, and I hear the voice of the narrator and frequently the characters as I look around a setting.
  1. I can always threaten to write people into a story if they don’t behave themselves. I think they’re terrified of that threat, really.


Now, it wouldn’t be fair to talk about what I love about the work, and not mention some of the downsides:

  1. There’s a mob of unwritten characters in my head. One of them in particular is very demanding of late. She’s not happy that I’m determined to finish the Keeper of the Keys Chronicles and instead she wants me to write her world. A few months ago, I wrote a scene for her so she had more than the small circle of light and the wall of the factory she was leaning against. Now she has a whole alley off a vaguely blurry street and a friend named One-eyed Jack to talk with. Although, I didn’t write them much dialogue. Anyway, the nervy chick now thinks the whole beautiful sooty alley between the factories isn’t good enough, and she wants more. (And she’s lobbying for some magical powers while I’m at it, but I keep telling her if she doesn’t behave…)
  1. I find myself staring at people while mentally writing their back stories and if they catch me they think I’m completely mental.
  1. Sometimes I. can’t. not. write. Like my hands drag me over to the keyboard and shove me into my chair and start punching things out while the ideas are fresh.
  1. Sometimes I. can’t. think. of anything. to say. at. all. And then I have to figure out someway to get the words flowing again so that I can make my deadlines and actually finish a book.


And that’s pretty much the way it goes most of the time.

The End.

Here’s some information about Anna’s book:

Click to visit the blog tour page.

A cursed traffic light. A rip in the fabric of the world. A possum sorcerer injured on a quest for revenge.

Kai and Ellie embark on a journey to return the sorcerer to his home. Entangled in events that could destroy the world, Kai must choose whether to accept the role he was born to play, but isn’t sure he wants.

You can purchase Flight of Blue here: Paperback | Kindle

A.E. Howard’s Author Page | Blog Tour w/ Giveaway!

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Rafflecopter code:

But wait, there’s more! There’s a giveaway too. Follow the link below to enter to win great prizes!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 thoughts on “Guest Post from A.E. Howard – Flight of Blue #Giveaway

  1. zaraalexis says:

    It’s wonderful to be able to be compelled to write. The passion for it as well as the actually act is somewhat of a compulsion isn’t it? I wish I was far more disciplined than I am when it comes to writing, but thanks for your insight! And thanks for the giveaway!

  2. Amanda Fanger says:

    “The whole world is frequently more colorful and interesting because I see it as though it’s being described in a novel, and I hear the voice of the narrator and frequently the characters as I look around a setting.” – Love it! I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one who does this 🙂 Great post, once again!

Leave a Reply

