Six Sentence Sunday

Welcome to my first Six Sentence Sunday!  I am pleased to share with you a snippet from my upcoming Young Adult paranormal romance, The Watcher.

In this scene the main character, Mia, has been injured while hiking in the woods, and Michael–the gorgeous new guy at her school–is helping her out. He offers to carry her, but Mia is too headstrong. So she accepts a piggy back ride. This is at the end of it:

Soon we were back at Fiona’s old Honda Civic, parked in the shade of a huge maple, and Michael lowered me onto the car’s hood. The cold metal pulled the skin on my legs into goose bumps, and I was suddenly aware of how warm I’d been pressed against him. Then, holding my hips, he gently guided me down to my feet. Our eyes locked–there was such light in his–and the air grew warm between us. In that moment, nothing else existed: just that light in his eyes and the touch of his hands on my hips. If I were more experienced with guys, I might have known how to flirt with him, but I didn’t. All I could do was hold my breath and lean in ever so slightly, willing him to come closer.

The Watcher releases from Inkspell Publishing in March, 2013. To have a copy delivered to your door the day it’s released, you can pre-order it from the publisher here.

Thank you for visiting and for letting me share this with you. Please feel free to leave a comment.

12 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday

  1. Angela Quarles says:

    Welcome to SSS! What a great snippet! Loved her growing awareness of him and then this final bit of insight, which made me totally root for her: “If I were more experienced with guys, I might have known how to flirt with him, but I didn’t. All I could do was hold my breath and lean in ever so slightly, willing him to come closer.”

    • lvoisin says:

      Angela, thank you so much. It’s so nice to hear what works in the scene and how it works. Thank you for giving me such a warm welcome 🙂

    • lvoisin says:

      Thank you so much. I’m so glad you liked it. I love the description “soft intimacy”. Thanks for giving me such a warm welcome!

Leave a Reply

