X-Man: Three Quick and Interesting Facts About Charles Xavier


Sir Patrick Stewart.

While comic book fans might know Charles Xavier from the X-Men comics, I was introduced to him in the X-Men movies. For those of you who haven’t heard of him, he is a paraplegic with superior intelligence and mutant telepathic ability and an expert in mutant genetics. He also founded the Xavier Institute, where mutant children are trained to use their abilities. In the films, he’s played by Sir Patrick Stewart, and, later, James McAvoy (in the prequel).

Today, in honor of the letter X, I learned a few other interesting facts about him. (from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Professor_X)

  1.   Professor Xavier’s character was inspired by Martin Luther King, Jr. especially for his work during the civil rights struggle.
  2. Apparently, his physical appearance was modeled after Academy Award–winning actor Yul Brynner. (according to creator Stan Lee, anyway)
  3. Unlike in the movies where he’s portrayed by British citizens, Charles Xavier is an American, born in New York City. Although he studied at for two years Oxford, that’s not enough to give him a British accent.

How about you? Are you a Charles Xavier fan? Did you see the movies? Read the comics? If so, which X-Men character is your favorite, and why?

4 thoughts on “X-Man: Three Quick and Interesting Facts About Charles Xavier

  1. lwpatricks says:

    Fun post! Nightcrawler has always been my favorite X-Man character. Here’s a man with a demonic appearance who is not only persecuted for being a mutant, but also his looks as well. However his faith is what keeps him from succumbing to hatred. Plus his powers is teleportation. Every time I’m stuck on a crowded subway with unbathed individuals, I wish i too could teleport.

    L.W.

  2. maty grzejne says:

    I seriously love your website.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you develop this website yourself? Please reply back
    as I’m trying to create my own personal blog and would love to know where you got this from or what the theme is called. Thanks!

    • lvoisin says:

      Thanks so much! I designed it myself. I seriously modified the vigilance theme, using my own graphics. I’m so glad you like it. Best of luck with your own blog. Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

