Q is for Quiet #atozchallenge

I sit here writing this late at night. The roar of traffic is long gone, but I can hear rain pelting the patio stones out my apartment window, wet tires in the distance. A train whistles its arrival. Closer, the refrigerator hums.

To me, this is quiet. I live in the city, dreaming of what people might hear in the country at night. Rain, surely. Always rain on the West Coast of Canada. Perhaps an owl. Perhaps a refrigerator.

What about 100 years ago?

Do we even know what quiet means anymore?

This post is part of the A to Z Blog Challenge for April. Click here to visit more.

4 thoughts on “Q is for Quiet #atozchallenge

  1. Random says:

    I’ve thought about this a lot. If I stop and listen, even in my relatively quiet town I still hear cars drive by regularly. Then there’s the background noise inside the house, like the fans in the computer, the fridge, air filters, cats meowing.

    When I used to hike, I felt very removed from noise, but even then it was rare to not hear at least one jet pass overhead.

    It seems like we take a certain amount of noise for granted so we don’t even notice it most of the time.

    Good topic for Q!

Leave a Reply

