J is for Jace #mortalinstruments #atozchallenge

Today’s post is dedicated to a fictional character found in the young adult (YA) urban fantasy series, The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.

In this series, Jace is a shadowhunter with human and angelic blood, thus making him a nephilim. Unlike the giants mentioned in the Book of Enoch, the nephilim in The Mortal Instruments series are the ones who protect humans from demons, thus the name shadowhunters. Their angelic blood gives them enhanced human strength, agility, coordination and stamina.

Now on to Jace’s complicated character. He has the arrogance, promiscuity, and devil-may-care attitude of a bad boy, combined with a great sense of duty and chivalry. Deep down, he believes himself to be evil on some level, which is a theme he carries throughout the series.

Like a bad boy, his love for the heroine, Clary Fray, changes him dramatically. When he first meets her, we see he believes that to love something is to destroy it. The author, Cassandra Clare, does a brilliant job of illustrating Jace’s complexity in a single story from his childhood. (Which I won’t go into here, because I.m not a fan of spoilers).

The movie, The Mortal Instruments, is due to come out in 2013 from Sony pictures, and it could be the next Hunger Games, providing the Urban Fantasy trend continues. The fans’s first pick to play Jace (opposite Lily Collins as Clary Fray) was Alex Pettyfer, but he turned it down. In his place is Jamie Campbell Bower, who apparently is beefing up considerably for the role.

What do you think? If you’re a fan of the Mortal Instruments, Do you think he will make a good Jace?

5 thoughts on “J is for Jace #mortalinstruments #atozchallenge

  1. Stephanie says:

    Sorry I’m so late to comment on this, but I am a HUGE Cassie Clare fan and I’ve had the good fortune to meet her and interact with her. I wasn’t originally sold on The Mortal Instruments intil at least the second book in. Then I was hooked. I’m getting a little weary of them again, but I ADORE The Infernal Devices series.

    As for Jamie as Jace, I’m reserving judgment until I see the movie. Neither he nor Lily are what I imagined, but I trust the producers. I was a die-hard Alex Pettyfer proponent, but I’m willing to give Jamie a chance.

    I’m so excited to have someone else to fangirl with! 🙂

    • lvoisin says:

      Hi Stephanie, Thanks for stopping by! I, too, am curious to see how Jamie does as Jace. I think he has the strength as an actor to play him well. I also ADORE the Infernal Devices! I was so impressed with Cassandra Clare’s storytelling in The Clockwork Prince. Happy to fangirl with you! So… Will or Jem?

Leave a Reply

