NaNo NaNo

Today is Sunday. I’m a week into NaNoWriMo, and I am coming up with silly nicknames for it, such as:

  • NanoWhino: for the tendency to whine about how little I’m writing.
  • NanoWino: For the tendency to drink for inspiration. (Not recommended for minors)
  • NanoRhino: For those who are just plowing through their word counts. (Like a charging Rhinnano_09_blk_participant_120x240.pngo)

Well, that’s all I’ve got so far. Looking at these, you’d think I was whining or wining a lot, but I haven’t been. I’ve just been playing with words a little too much and have gone a bit loopy.

Of the three, though, I’d like to be the latter, the NaNoRhino. I understand that quantity does not equal quality, and there are days when I know I’d feel better writing one scene I love rather than 1667 words that I don’t. But I have surprised myself. I have had ideas filter in that I know wouldn’t have if I hadn’t shown up at the page every day this week. I even have Dr. Wicked to thank for some of it, on those days that I felt I needed a bit more pressure to write something down.

I’m having quite a bit of fun with NaNoWriMo so far, and if you’re doing it, I hope you are too. I am looking at it as a great opportunity to work on my second novel. I can try out some story ideas without expecting them to actually work. I can get to know my characters even better by listening to them talking in my head all month. I’ve even given myself permission to write scenes that I know will be cut. I think NaNoWriMo is an excellent opportunity to learn to not take myself too seriously.

Leave a Reply

